← Back to Search

Holding Details

Barcode50362005331137
LocationBradford PL
TitleUncultured : a memoir / Daniella Mestyanek Young with Brandi Larsen.
AuthorMestyanek Young, Daniella, author.
Call No299.93 YOU
CollectionAdult Non-Fiction
Reserve Item

Copies

Call NoBarcodeCirc StatusLocation
299.93 YOU50362005331137AvailableBradford PL

Catalog Details

International Standard Book Number 1250280117 : $28.99
International Standard Book Number 9781250280114 : $28.99
Dewey Decimal Classification Number 299/.93 B 23/eng/20220607
Personal Name Mestyanek Young, Daniella, author.
Title Statement Uncultured : a memoir / Daniella Mestyanek Young with Brandi Larsen.
Edition Statement First edition.
Imprint New York : St. Martin's Press, 2022.
Physical Description x, 339 pages ; 25 cm.
Content Type text txt rdacontent.
Media Type unmediated n rdamedia.
Carrier Type volume nc rdacarrier.
Summary, Etc. "In the vein of Educated and The Glass Castle, Daniella Mestyanek Young's Uncultured is more than a memoir about an exceptional upbringing, but about a woman who, no matter the lack of tools given to her, is determined to overcome. Behind the tall, foreboding gates of a commune in Brazil, Daniella Mestyanek Young was raised in the religious cult The Children of God, also known as The Family, as the daughter of high-ranking members. Her great-grandmother donated land for one of The Family's first communes in Texas. Her mother, at thirteen, was forced to marry the leader and served as his secretary for many years. Beholden to The Family's strict rules, Daniella suffers physical, emotional, and sexual abuse-masked as godly discipline and divine love-and is forbidden from getting a traditional education. At fifteen years old, fed up with The Family and determined to build a better and freer life for herself, Daniella escapes to Texas. There, she bravely enrolls herself in high school and excels, later graduating as valedictorian of her college class, then electing to join the military to begin a career as an intelligence officer, where she believes she will finally belong. But she soon learns that her new world-surrounded by men on the sands of Afghanistan-looks remarkably similar to the one she desperately tried to leave behind. Told in a beautiful, propulsive voice and with clear-eyed honesty, Uncultured explores the dangers unleashed when harmful group mentality goes unrecognized, and is emblematic of the many ways women have to contort themselves to survive"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject-Personal Name Mestyanek Young, Daniella.
Subject Family International (Organization) Biography.
Subject Added Entry - Topical Term Cults.
Subject Added Entry - Topical Term Social psychology.
Subject Added Entry - Topical Term Women.
Added Entry, Personal Name Larsen, Brandi, author.

Book Reviews

Create Review