← Back to Search

Holding Details

StatusChecked Out
Perm LocPunxsy
Barcode30540000816267
TitleBefore we were yours : a novel / Lisa Wingate. First edition. Ed
AuthorWingate, Lisa, author.
Call NoFIC WIN
CollectionAdult Fiction
Reserve Item

Copies

Perm LocCall NoBarcodeStatus
PunxsyFIC WIN30540000816267Checked Out

Catalog Details

International Standard Book Number 9780425284681 (hardback)
Dewey Decimal Classification Number 813/.54 23
Personal Name Wingate, Lisa, author.
Title Statement Before we were yours : a novel / Lisa Wingate.
Edition Statement First edition.
Production, Publication, Distribution, Manufacture, and Copyright Notice New York : Ballantine Books, [2017]
Physical Description 342 pages ; 25 cm.
Content Type text txt rdacontent.
Media Type unmediated n rdamedia.
Carrier Type volume rdacarrier.
Summary, Etc. "Memphis, Tennessee, 1936. The five Foss children find their lives changed forever when their parents leave them alone on the family shantyboat one stormy night. Rill Foss, just twelve years old, must protect her four younger siblings as they are wrenched from their home on the Mississippi and thrown into the care of the infamous Georgia Tann, director of the Tennessee Children's Home Society. South Carolina, Present Day. Avery Stafford has lived a charmed life. Loving daughter to her father, a U.S. Senator, she has a promising career as an assistant D.A. in Baltimore and is engaged to her best friend. But when Avery comes home to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with a stranger leaves her deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about the woman's life will take her on a journey through her family's long-hidden history"-- Provided by publisher.
Summary, Etc. "Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"-- Provided by publisher.
Index Term-Genre/Form Domestic fiction.